PRO’s Weekly Report – 28th April 2013



Last weekend was a great weekend in our club as it was Presidents Prize weekend. Play commenced at 2 pm on Friday 26th and ran right through Saturday with the final round at 5 pm on Sunday evening the 28th. At that time on Sunday  evening  230 rounds (approx) had been played by the members. Some members had played 13 rounds over the two and a half days. The weather was mixed, very showery on Friday, nice  sunny warm day on Sat and heavy showers with strong winds on Sunday. Our President this year is Michael Flynn who is a gentleman both on and off the field and the quality of his prizes would put a lot of  competitions to shame. They were magnificent and those who  won were very lucky indeed. The following is a full list of winners:

Winner:   Clive Byrne.
Runner-Up:   Rene  Bloem.
36 Nett:   Stuart Tarleton.
36 Gross:   Michael Buckley.

Winner:   Liz Bloem.
Runner-Up:   Ena Clinton (on break of a tie from Moira Nugent)

Prize for Hole – in -One:   Willie Ayres.
Prize for most 2′s on Hole 7:   John Browne (with 5).

Congratulations to Michael Flynn, our President, who celebrated his birthday on Saturday last.

Thanks to all who helped out over the weekend especially John Browne & Martin Carter who did all the scores. To the ladies in the kitchen for all the lovely food etc.  Thanks to our groundsmen  – Sean & Colm who despite the bad weather had the course in good condition for this time of year and any of our members who gave a hand to get the course in order. Again a huge thanks to the Flynn family for their generosity  as Michael supplied all the prizes for the weekend.


The following players from our club qualified for the above championships: Rene Bloeme, Stephen Ruane, Clive Byrne & Stuart Tarleton and we wish them well in  the finals in Tullamore & Erry on the weekend of 18th & 19th May.


The semi-finals of the above competition take place on Weds next the 1st of May. John Browne’s team – v – Liz Bloem’s team and in the second semi-final Martin Carter’s team plays Michael Buckley’s team and we wish them all the very  best.

Ena Clinton, PRO.

Back to 2013 News Items